them for freight, warehouses for the handling of general cargo and special equipment for such bulk freight as lumber, coal, oil, grain, etc. Equipment may include cold storage, harbour railway and switching connections, grain elevators, coal bunkers, oil storage tanks, and, in the main harbours, dry-dock accommodation.

Seven of the principal harbours of Canada are under the administration of the National Harbours Board, as explained below. Some other harbours are administered by commissions which include municipal as well as Dominion Government appointees, while the remainder are administered by harbour masters directly under the authority of the Department of Transport.

In addition to the harbour facilities owned by the National Harbours Board or other operating commission, at most ports, there are dock and handling facilities owned by private companies such as railways, pulp and paper, oil, and sugar industries, etc. At a number of ports there are also graving docks which are dealt with separately below.

It is not possible at present to compile comparable representative statistics regarding the equipment of the leading ports of Canada but with the consolidation of control under the Department of Transport, such statistics should be available in the near future.

National Harbours Board.—Prior to October, 1935, the seven national harbours of Canada—Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Three Rivers, Montreal, and Vancouver—were under the management and control of separate Harbour Commissions, each consisting of three persons appointed from the immediate locality. Orders in Council were passed on Oct. 31, 1935, accepting the resignations of the individual Harbour Commissions, and other Orders in Council passed as of the same date vesting in a single Board of three Harbour Commissioners the powers and responsibilities inherent in each of the seven former commissions. In this way effect was given to the more important recommendations of Sir Alexander Gibb, following his survey of national ports in 1931.

During the 1936 session of Parliament, the individual Acts relating to the administration of these ports were repealed and a single uniform Act (c. 42) substituted, placing the general direction and control of the national ports referred to under a single National Harbours Board, leaving the local administration in the hands of a port manager responsible to the Board. This legislation became effective on Oct. 1, 1936.

The headquarters of the National Harbours Board is at Ottawa, and, under the Minister of Transport, the Board is responsible for the administration, maintenance and control of the seven ports referred to, as well as any other harbour property which the Governor in Council may transfer to the Board for administration. Engineering works, heretofore under the direction of small local staffs, are now looked after by the departmental engineering services, while local direction devolves upon competent port managers with a proper background of experience. The financial control of each port is under the direction of the Comptroller of the Treasury and subject to audit by the Auditor General of Canada. Accounting for each port is, however, to be carried out at the port, and funds earned at one port will not be diverted for use elsewhere.

Public Harbours and Harbour Masters.—In the smaller maritime communities, the Governor in Council, as formerly, may create public harbours by proclamation, as provided by Part X of the Canada Shipping Act (c. 44, 1934), and the Minister of Transport may, from time to time, appoint harbour masters